Provider Details

Property Tax Deferral Loan Program - WHEDA

Address: (See Map)

201 W Washington
Suite 700
Madison, WI 53703

Mailing Address

PO BOX 1728
Madison, WI 53701

Contact Information:

Phone: (800) 334-6873
Toll Free: (800) 755-7835
Email: [email protected]

Organization Contacts

Vivian Hancock
Phone: (800) 334-6873
Email: [email protected]


The Property Tax Deferral Loan program (PTDL) was created by the State Legislature to help Wisconsin
residents who are home owners, age 65 or older, or a qualified veteran with a limited income, convert the equity in their home into cash to pay all or a portion of their property taxes. The program is administered by the Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority (WHEDA).

An applicant may borrow up to $3,525 each year that they qualify for the program. Approved borrowers
make no required monthly principal and interest payment on the loan until ownership of the property is
transferred or until the borrower no longer lives in the home.

The 2020 PTDL program interest rate is 4.25% which is fixed for the life of the loan. The interest rate is
dictated by Wisconsin Statutes 234.625 (Loans shall bear interest at a rate equal to the prime lending rate at the time the rate is set, as reported by the federal reserve board in federal reserve statistical
release H. 15, plus 1% which shall be set no later than October 15th of each year, and that rate shall
apply to loans made in the following year).

A borrower may pay back all or a portion of the loan and accrued interest at any time without penalty.

A borrower must be at least 65 years of age or a qualified veteran on the date of application. If you are married, your spouse must qualify as a co-owner. All co-owners, occupying and non-occupying the home, must be: 1) at least 60 years of age on the date of application or 2) permanently disabled.

The borrower must own a qualified insured home in Wisconsin and reside there more than 6 months of
the preceding year. A borrower is considered as living in hi

Service Categories

Legal Services

Geographic Areas Served

  • Counties Adams, Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Buffalo, Burnett, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Door County, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Fond du Lac, Forest, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Iron, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Lafayette, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Marquette, Menominee, Monroe, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Quasi, Racine, Richland, Rock, Rusk, Saint Croix, Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Sheboygan, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Walworth, Washburn, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago, Wood, Xample
  • Regions Door County

Hours of Operation

  • Monday: 8:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Tuesday: 8:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Wednesday: 8:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Thursday: 8:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Friday: 8:00 AM-5:00 PM


This organization has no sites

Organization Products and Services
This organzation has not listed any products or services.

Last Update Date: 04/17/2021

Request to Update Provider Information
Confirm Provider Information